German Plum Kuchen

As it is Plum season we have a abundance they are everywhere kilos in the freezer, fridge and fruit bowl so I needed ( yes NEEDED) to try this recipe for German plum Kuchen. It was absolutely delicious. I tweaked the original recipe a little bit so it had less sugar as my toddler loves to sample the cakes we bake together and I am cautious on giving her too much sugar and giving her a addiction like I have!

At the moment I’m trying to grow stevia to use instead of sugar but thats another subject for another post.

I felt drawn to this German cake recipe for a few reasons – I have dutch heritage so I know a lot of the baking done in the Netherlands is similar. My oma sadly is a horrific cook I once bought some beautiful dutch carrots to make something with when I stayed with her only to discover the next morning they had been boiled – as is done with every vegetable left around! The skills must have skipped a generation as my mother is a fantastic cook and I learnt much of my love of baking from her and have wonderful memories of baking with her throughout life.

Another reason I love German recipes is that they are so satisfying and leave you feeling whole I’m not so much a fan of dainty desserts mostly because I lack the patience and when I try the fiddly designs they look like cat sick!

The cake in question was absolutely delicious it was moist but firm and buttery and a lovely light tart flavour from the fruit. You could make this cake with peaches or any stone fruit you have but I really think the plums complemented the cake mix perfectly.

German Plum Sour Cream Kuchen

I used an 8″ very deep pan with a lift out bottom for this cake but it really would be perfect  in a 9″ springform pan but you can use whatever you have or even try it as a upside down cake. just arrange plums in the pan first – I urge you to use baking paper with this recipe as the plums go quite jammy and sticky

6 large plums

1 tbsp packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar (original recipe asks for 2C)

3 eggs (I used our Ducks eggs I love duck eggs for baking)

zest of 2 oranges

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups sour cream

1/3 cup vegetable oil

extra brown sugar to sprinkle over the plums

1.Grease and flour 9″ springform pan; set aside.  I prefer parchment lined pans for baking and recommend this technique highly. Preheat Oven to 180 Celcius

2.Slice the plums into slices I slice all over the Plum then pull it off the seed. Once the plums are sliced toss them with the 1 tablespoons of brown sugar and the 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon.  Set the bowl aside.

IMG_3251

2.I cream the butter with sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in orange zest and vanilla.

IMG_3252IMG_3253

Your mix will look something like this now

IMG_3255

3.In sifter place together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.In another small bowl, whisk together the  sour cream and oil.

4.Sift some of the dry ingredients into the wet mix Alternating with the sour cream mix and stirring after each addition starting and ending with the dry mix. Pour into pan and smooth over

IMG_3256IMG_3257

5. Arrange plums into a pretty design of your choosing and sprinkle with a little more brown sugar

IMG_3258

6.Bake the cake for about 50 mins or until skewer comes out clean – you may need closer to a hour depending on your oven and your cake pan.

Let the cake cool for about 15mins before you take it out of the pan then serve with fresh cream or custard.

IMG_3260             IMG_3261

We chose custard as I had used all of our cream in our dinner (spaghetti squash carbonara)

  IMG_3262 IMG_3263

.

Leave a Reply

