Piglets and Raspberry Jam

I haven’t been blogging as much as  I’d like my goal was 3 times a week but since starting the blog I’ve been diagnosed with carpal tunnel and this has slowed things down some.

This weekend was lovely we sold some chickens and had some lovely family time. Sunday afternoon we went to visit our landlords piglets in the back paddock. These piglets felt quite special as Flopsy the mother was a piglet we raised from two large whites we inherited when we moved in. It was such a joy to see her with her 4 babies and she is such a good mother too and seems very content.

IMG_3385

I also found some time to make some more preserves so I made up a batch of Raspberry Jam and Plum sauce to sell at the local swap meet on Sunday we are taking some preserves, produce, Brahma trios and Wyandottes to sell so hopefully it will be a good day we have promised ourselves we won’t buy anything so we will see how that goes.

IMG_3358

These following recipes comes from Sally Wise’s book a year on the farm. A friend bought this for me for Christmas and I am so grateful and it really got me into preserving. Not only does it have a great story but also wonderful recipes. If you go to Tasmania you can go to her classes on cooking, preserving colonial baking find her blog here

http://www.sallywise.com.au/

IMG_3361

Here is the recipe for Raspberry Jam I used. This is the BEST tasting jam I have ever made or tasted it probably helps that the raspberries are from our own garden. I made from frozen and I didn’t thaw when I made the jam so this allowed for extra cooking time than the recipe states bare that in mind if cooking from frozen yourself.  Also I accidentally added the sugar in the beginning due to toddler distractions I didn’t find this affected the flavour but probably lengthened my cooking time

Divine Raspberry Jam

  • 1.5kg raspberries
  • ¼ cup water
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1.5kg sugar
    • Place the raspberries, water and lemon juice in a saucepan and bring to the boil  .

    • IMG_3362IMG_3363

    • Cook for 10 minutes over a gentle heat. Add sugar and bring back to the boil, stirring occasionally to dissolve the sugar.

    • IMG_3364
    • Boil briskly for 10 minutes. (15 if frozen raspberries and forgetting to add sugar later! )

    • IMG_3372
    • Stand for 5 minutes, then pour into warm sterilized jars and seal.

    • Makes approximately 2kg

.

Plum Sauce

IMG_3359

I significantly reduced this recipe as we don’t often use plum sauce so I only wanted a jar or two for the household and a few to sell.

3kg plums
1.5kg sugar
6 cups cider vinegar
500g onion, chopped
6 cloves garlic, chopped
3 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon grated green ginger
3 teaspoons ground allspice
2 teaspoons ground cloves
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, optional
1 teaspoon mustard powder
Juice 1 lemon

Method

Place all ingredients in a large saucepan and stir over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is boiling.
IMG_3366
Continue to boil 2 hours or until the mixture is thick, stirring often.

Strain through a colander, food mill or coarse sieve.

Bring back to the boil, then pour into warm sterilised bottles and seal immediately.

Leave a Reply

