Homemade washing Liquid (Borax free!!)

For a few years now I’ve been making my own laundry soap. I decided to start doing this when N was born as we were using Cloth nappies and often commercial brands cause a lot of build up in the nappies and well I like to know what I’m putting next to my families most sensitive areas. I’ve been experimenting with the recipes and originally I was making powder but was finding we went through it very quickly and I had to make a batch every month so I switched to liquid and now I think I’ve finally mastered it enough to share.

I really enjoy making my own products it’s so satisfying to know exactly what ingredients are in the product I’m using.

IMG_4448

Now this recipe costs me about 10c per wash and we use half a cup per full load last time I made it I got 8 litres of liquid and it lasts us about 6 months and that’s doing a 7kg load of washing a day. It’s a big saving and I feel safe in the knowledge we aren’t putting harsh chemicals into the septic or our skin.

Hunter Gathers Homemade Laundry Liquid

1 Bar Grated Laundry Soap (DO NOT cut corners and try to microwave soap bar)   1 Cup Washing Soda                                                                                                                  1/4 C Epsom salts                                                                                                                     1 & 1/2 Litres of water (Plus extra to make up to 10 litres or the size of your big pot)                                                                                                                                                Essential oil (Optional but I use Tea Tree or Lavender)

  1. In a large Sauce pan stir in soap, washing powder and 1 & 1/2 litres water over medium heat until dissolved
  2. Add the extra litres of cold water stir add Epsom salts and a tsp of your chosen oil
  3. Funnel into bottles

That’s it! It’s so easy!!

Leave a Reply

