Fermented Watermelon Soda

Last year before I started making Kombucha I started experimenting with fermented soft drinks. I loved making them but the recipes I used I found overly sweet as they called for about 10 cups of sugar! After some experimenting I mastered the recipe for Fermented Watermelon soda you can Lacto-ferment it if you want but I prefer using my Kombucha to get it started you could use cider vinegar or something else with the MOTHER.

I used a 5litre food grade bucket to make my batch as I make very large amounts at once but you could use a fermenting jar or whatever you have handy. I have given the recipe for the smaller quantity below.

The flavor of this yummy and healthy soda is sour and sweet at the same time and a beautiful pink colour that your kids will go mad for!

watermelon3

Fermented Watermelon Soda 

4 Cups Watermelon pureed

1/2 Cup Sugar

1/4 C Kombucha , Keffir, Whey, Apple cider vinegar,or ginger bug

1 Litre of warm water

  1. Place sugar and water in your vessel and stir to dissolve
  2. Add pureed watermelon
  3. Add the Kombucha (or starter of choice) and stir
  4. Cover with a cheesecloth and let it sit on the counter for 2 to 10 days I did 4 days as it is hot and summer here in Australia but it will depend of your climate and taste buds. The longer you let it ferment the less sugar there will be as the bacteria will consume and convert the sugar during fermentation.  Swish the soda around once a day to prevent mold from forming on the surface.
  5. Strain the puree out and bottle leaving some head space for a second ferment to increase carbonation for a few days to a week and then pop in the  fridge.

Enjoy Ice cold 🙂

7 thoughts on “Fermented Watermelon Soda

  1. Hey there. Loving your blog and reading about all you get up to. I was reading another blog from NZ and thought this recipe was right up your alley so hope you don’t mind me sharing the link. 🙂
    https://personalgrowthsite.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/lime-pickle/ A fermented lime pickle. 🙂

    Wish I could try some of your watermelon soda. I remember a delicious watermelon vodka slushie I had in Phuket but I reckon the edge of sour would absolutely rock with sweet watermelon. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi! I must admit I read your blog too 🙂 we seem to follow a similar path in life although I am not yet a thermomix convert :p. That Recipe looks great! My mother is the pickle/chutney maker in our family as she’s up North NSW and has more access to organic lemons than we do so I will definitely suggest this to her! The watermelon soda is divine it reminds me a little of the watermelon sour warheads I had as a kid but not quite as sour. The thing I love about this recipe over other fermented sodas is the low amount of sugar the recipes I used in the past had about 8 cups!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OMG! Warheads! I loved the grape chilli ones I must admit. Never did like sour as a kid. More a taste acquired (acquiring) as an adult.
        Glad you didn’t mind the share. I read her post straight after catching up on a few of yours so you were still fresh in my mind.
        We do seem to be on a similar path. I’m less of a Thermy convert now than I was but I still find it a most useful tool and no regrets purchasing it. In some ways I think it made good food more accessible to us and now I am more keen to make good food the “old fashioned” way. 😉
        I’ve tried Kombucha but not a fan. We do use milk kefir here frequently as I make the kids milkshakes a few times a week and ferment in the fridge. I got into ginger beer too but it’s still pretty sweet and I don’t like too much sugar in our diets, no matter how “good” rapadura sugar might be. Might try watermelon soda at least once though.

        Like

      2. Did you end up trying it? (Sorry I’m only replying to all these now. I never saw them! I’ve just got the WordPress App which is making it easier!) There’s loads of fermented soda recipes that look great but as we have so much booch I’ve not been making them much

        Like

  2. My soda is very separated, pink on bottom and cloudy clear on top. It is extremely sour, not delicious at all and I enjoy sour things. My first ferment was 3 days and the second was 2. I strained the pulp before 1st and 2nd ferment. Any suggestions? Oh and the original liquid was very sweet and tasty.

    Like

    1. Hi Julia,
      The bottled liquid does tend to seperate I usually just give it a gentle shake before drinking. The taste should be mildly sour but not overly. Is it hot where you are? Perhaps the first ferment went quicker than normal. The sour flavour does sound like its fermented too far so would be better to use as a vinegar than drinking. Keep experimenting maybe try fermenting in a cooler room?
      Let me know how you go 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

