Here we go round the Raspberry Bush!

We have been busy here harvesting and preserving our raspberries. Our predictions of a bumper crop this year are ringing true as we Harvest around a 1kg a day. We pick in the early morning and late afternoon to avoid the hot parts of the day. I love our time picking as we go out as a whole family. The novelty has worn off for miss N but she sits in the shade of the bush playing with our cat Whiskie (Who spends her day in the bush) and sings us songs. Banjo still needs to be carried in the baby carrier on my back as the other young plants in the patch will not survive his brute strength!

IMG_4905

As the weather warms and we are harvesting and preserving more I’m finding less and less time for posting but if you would like to keep up to date with our antics I have recently started a facebook page. This is mainly to keep people up to date and advertise products for the market stall but I also like to post nice events and things happening in and around the homestead so please Like the page https://www.facebook.com/Hunter-Gatherer-416223725239665/

IMG_4906

This last week there has been lots of experimentation of raspberry based products. Today at the end of the post (After I finish my ramblings) I will share my recipe for Sparkling Raspberry Wine this is a new one for me and a adaptation of the Raspberry soda I made last year. I am yet to see the results as I want to wait a few months for extra fermentation but I will share with you anyway.

My Other Raspberry pursuits have included Raspberry Jam , Raspberry Chilli Jam, Peach and Raspberry Jam (YUM YUM), Raspberry cordial, Raspberry sauce and a raspberry BBQ sauce which I’m very excited about as this is one of the first recipes I have developed all by myself ( with Danes imput of course) It feels wonderful to have reached this point in my journey with food. I have always “altered” recipes to suit me but I’ve only just started writing things down so they become MY recipe and I can do it exactly the same next time.

In other Garden adventures I have FINALLY manged to grow the perfect carrot! I’ve always felt a bit of a failure when it came to carrots they were either to much top and no carrot or weird unpeelable mutants and usually ended up as snack food for our jersey. This time Nyah and I loaded up the soil with lots of buckets of Sand and it made a huge difference lovely straight perfect delicious carrots!! I love the joy Nyah gets from her carrot garden these are her favorites to grow and pull up and I always make sure we plant the new seeds together.

resizeIMG_4893

Anyway onto the recipe

Raspberry Sparkling Wine

Ingredients

  • 300g Fresh or frozen Raspberries
  • 1 packet sparkling wine or cider yeast
  • 5 litres of water
  • 4 Cups sugar
  • 1 lemon cut up

Method

In a 5 litre bucket/Container dump in all ingredients except yeast and stir until sugar is dissolved.

Pour in Yeast and give it another stir. Cover in cloth with rubber band and leave to ferment for 3 days stirring daily to avoid mold

Strain off fruit and pour liquid into bottles leave to ferment for as little (at least one week)or as long as you want for example we will enjoy a bottle at Christmas after a 2 week ferment but will try another after 2 months and another in a year.

Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Here we go round the Raspberry Bush!

Leave a Reply

