Fire Cider

Last year I started to take more of a interest in Herbal Medicine. I hope to study it one day when time permits but in the meantime I am doing a lot of self education and investigation. I first came across fire cider in one of my Pinterest trawls and I was intrigued. I read up a lot on it and it has been on my to do list ever since.

Fire Cider is a traditional remedy which had deep roots in Folk medicine.  Generally it is made with Horseradish, garlic, onion, vinegar and whatever appropriate herbs that are growing when you make it. For generations Fire cider has a simple and effective remedy to relieve sinus congestion, ward off colds and flu, aid digestion, and increase circulation it can be taken on it’s own or added to juice which is what I will do for the kids.

I changed the recipe a bit and used a combination of Apple cider vinegar I had made from foraged apples last year and JUN (pronounced JOON I think)  a fermented green tea and honey drink. As this is folk medicine you will come across many variations of the recipe in google searches and I will share mine with you today.

IMG_4987.JPG

Hunter gatherer Fire Cider 

2 Large Onions

4 cloves Garlic

1 Orange cut up

4C JUN or Kombucha

1C Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Tbs Fresh ginger

2 Tbs Raw honey

1 Tbs Turmeric

2 Tbs Horseradish

Handful Parsley, Thyme and Rosemary

2 Hot chillies

Cut up onion and garlic and divide these plus the rest of the ingredients between the two jars or pop into one big jar depending on your vessel.

Add Liquid , Seal Jars and shake daily let sit for 6 weeks (Or longer if you want) Then strain the liquid and bottle.

You can add extra honey at bottling if you want it sweeter.

Now you can either refrigerate it or have it to continue to ferment and turn more vinegary. This is what I plan to do as I believe it will give further health benefits but I think it’s down to individual preference.

Here’s to a winter of quick cold cures!!

2 thoughts on “Fire Cider

    1. Great idea! I was thinking of adding JUN to my next batch(To be honest I don’t really like drinking it as much as Kombucha!). I read somewhere that you can re-use the fruit, spices and herbs for a next batch so I may do this with the addition of fresh ingredients too. I’m going to sample some when I strain and bottle it tomorrow can’t wait!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

