Small surprises

It’s hot. It’s too Hot. I don’t deal well with the heat it’s part of the reason we chose somewhere that snows. The temperatures have hit the mid to high 30s (that’s Celsius) the chickens are panting, the kids are cranky, the cats and puppy are doing lots of sleeping and I’m finding it hard to motivate myself but still there is work to be done. It’s days like this I question what the hell we are doing. Maybe I should just get a conventional job in a air conditioned office and make money in a “normal” way. Then I am reminded by something about why we chose this lifestyle and why we love it so much. Today it was in the form of a small amphibian hiding in a squash flower and enjoying the cool pool of water.

frogflower2frogflower

It was a beautiful reminder of the wonders of nature and the simple pleasures we enjoy each day.

In other news our visitors have all left us it’s been wonderful having the company of old friends and sharing new experiences but it’s also nice to unwind and go back to our life of hermitude. We are still kept busy looking after a friends animals on their farm while they are away. One of our jobs at their place has been to milk their one uddered goat Dolly. It has been great to experience as diary goats has always been high on our list but our unfortunate goat experience we had early in our journey meant we never got to the milking stage. If you’ve never had goats milk fresh you really must try it. The bad rap goats milk has is all lies and I really would put it at the same level as our jersey cows milk it’s that creamy and delicious. I have certainly had my desire for goats reinforced but I’m sensible enough to know that we need to wait until we buy or are on a more suitable property. In the meantime I will keep drooling over cute pictures of baby goats and researching.

All the extra work we’ve been doing has set me a little behind on preserving. One of our guests very generously gifted us about 10kg of plums!!

 Our plum tree is a bit pathetic at the moment it’s a beautiful towering ancient tree that gives generous shade but is very hit and miss with fruit. Our first year we had bountiful plums that were disgusting and bitter! The second we had zero plums thanks to the plague of white cockatoos happily munching then and pooping on my washing line. This year we had about 5 of the most sweet and juicy plums I have ever eaten but not enough to preserve with so you can imagine my joy at such a gift.

IMG_5029.JPG

So far I have made 6 bottles of Plum Cordial (Which I will share the recipe for in my next post), Rosemary and Plum butter (Non dairy this is a smoother jam), Plum Chutney, Chinese Plum Sauce, Worcestershire sauce and  Plum Wine which is smelling VERY alcoholic and reminds me of sangria. I’ve got enough in the fridge for some Vanilla Bean and plum jam and then 6KG in the overflowing deep freeze for processing later in the year.

plumcordial

On top of this we still have our regular Kombucha and JUN bottling as well as animal chores and child education. Life if certainly not boring and despite my small “What are we doing” moments now and again I really wouldn’t have it any other way!

2 thoughts on “Small surprises

  1. I love your neighbour, hiding in his squash flower. What a sunshiney golden place to hang out. I wonder if he is a Southern Brown Tree Frog like we have here in Ballan. http://frogs.org.au/frogs/species/Litoria/ewingi/ or if he’s a different fellow (lady?) altogether. Perhaps these fit? http://frogs.org.au/frogs/species/Litoria/verreauxi/ or http://frogs.org.au/frogs/species/Litoria/wilcoxi/. I made a decision to introduce myslf to neighbours by name when I can which is why I had to find out your neighbours name. 🙂

    We had a horrid hot day here yesterday although some degrees cooler than I hear you’re having. I hear you on an air-conditioned office too. It’s the only time I am supremely jealous of my husband working his 40 hour corporate weeks. 😉

    Stay cool and remember this feeling when, on an icy cold day, once the chores are done, you get to curl up by the fire and stay toasty warm. 🙂

    Like

    1. Dane discovered our little friends type apparently he/she is special to this area. I’ll share the information he found for you when on the computer! It’s cold and rainy again now. I’m hoping for a last spell of heat for my eggplants to flower!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

