Mascarpone recipe

Recently I posted a photo of the mascarpone I made on Facebook and instagram and I was asked to share the recipe.

image

I’ve had lots of lovely thick jersey cream from Kisses and haven’t felt like making butter. Usually I would make cream cheese but having run out of starter I needed a another option.

Mascarpone is a delicious citrusy Italian cream cheese that can be quite expensive to buy but is very easy to make. You can use vinegar, lemon juice or citric acid combined with cream. For the purpose of this recipe I am using citric acid but feel free to experiment.

Mascarpone

Ingredients

1litre cream
1teaspoon citric acid

Method
1. Pop your cream in a heavy saucepan and very slowly heat the cream stirring every now and then. Bring the cream to 90 degrees celsius (use a meat or candy thermometer to measure this)

2. Once you have brought cream to temp remove from heat and add the citric acid stirring for 5 minutes.

3. Place a colander or sieve lined with a muslin/cheese cloth over a bowl and Poor the cream mix in. cover with a plate and move to the fridge to drain the liquid for 8 hours.

4. Poor off the drained whey. This can be used in breads, soups, stocks or to make ricotta.
Scrape your mascarpone into a container and use as you wish.
We made a mascarpone baked  cheesecake with lime and raspberry if anyone would like the recipe to this please ask and I’ll add it to the post. (Sorry no photo of the actual cheesecake it went too quick but here’s the before 😋)

image

4 thoughts on “Mascarpone recipe

    1. Hi Reading as my therapy!
      The cheesecake is so simple I’m a get it mixed quick kinda gal.
      Preheat your oven to 160C you want a low slow cook
      Sometimes I’ll make a shortcrust pastry base but if I’m juggling children and short on time I do a crushed biscuit base.
      For the base 1 pack of biscuits (crushed in a food processor or with a hammer and eager preschooler if the powers out) mixed with 1/4 C melted butter. Press mixture into your baking pan and pop in the fridge

      For cheese cake mix place in a bowl your whole lot of mascarpone you made with the previous recipe, 1/4C sugar, 4eggs, 1C thick cream mix together then add raspberries and lime juice mix again
      Grab your base out of the fridge and pour the mixture in and bake. cook time will vary depending on your oven mine took 2 hours but the slower the better as if too high your mix will scramble. It will taste fine but the texture will be wrong.
      Pop in the fridge for a few hours once cooled and enjoy 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I will be trying this soon. I have a potluck to go to and this sounds like just the thing to take. I also tried your Fermented Horseradish mustard. Something went wrong with that one but I am going to attempt it again. I enjoy your site because I get ideas from you to begin soon as our seasons are opposite. I am in the states so you have started my planning! Thanks again, Melissa

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks Melissa so lovely to hear we inspire 😊 I started this blog to keep a record of our journey and recipes so I’m pretty stoked people read it! What went wrong with the horseradish mustard? I’ve found it works best in small batches using a bullet processor and adding the water very slowly and using less water if needed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

